Concerning the Recent Merger of SurveySpot and Opinion Outpost

History of the Merger

On July 7, 2011, Survey Sampling International and Opinionology received approval to unite under the SSI brand, bringing together two global leaders with over 50 years of experience, 30 offices around the world, respondents from 72 countries and a staff fluent in 36 languages. What does this mean to the average survey taker?

The first hint of the change was noticed on July 26th, 2011, when Opinion Outpost posted a “System Maintenance!” notice at the same time that SurveySpot was having problems with log-ins.

On October 15, 2011 Opinion Outpost sent out this email:

Exciting News! Pay Pal comes to Town! At Opinion Outpost plus other upcoming new exciting changes to the website and new rewards! Outpost will be down for maintenance Oct. 17.

After the Opinion Outpost site update, the new site looked nearly identical to the SurveySpot previously existing site, save for some color differences.

Changes and Problems After the Merger

After some initial problems, including site errors and sending out tax forms to a lot of people who had not earned over $600 in combined income from SurveySpot and Opinion Outpost during the fiscal year, SSI eventually ironed out the problems and several things changed, some for the better, some not so good. The best thing was that Opinion Outpost now has PayPal and you can cash-out as soon as you reach 100 points ($10), which is promptly sent to your PayPal account, usually in just a few hours.

The worst thing is that now the surveys on both SurveySpot and Opinion Outpost are essentially the same, but Opinion Outpost clearly pays more for the same survey, making SurveySpot somewhat redundant except for email invitations with specific points attached, such as the beer diary which pays 300 points ($3) every other week for several months and the occasional Invoke Interactive.

I completed an Invoke with SurveySpot for 2000 points ($20) on November 17, 2011 and another for 3500 points ($35) on January 18, 2012. SurveySpot still requires you to cash out with 1000 points ($10), but also has PayPal.

I am also disappointed in Opinion Outpost for adding so many $1 (and less) surveys through OTX Research (Online Testing Exchange) and Opinion Sphere. I will frequently click on an email link for a 20-point ($2) or 30-point ($3) survey and quickly get redirected to a $1 survey from OTX Research (Online Testing Exchange) or Opinion Sphere. Very few of those 10-point ($1) surveys are less than 20 minutes in length and some are longer, particularly considering the lengthy and redundant screeners.

It’s probably best, time-wise, to just hit the “No, I’m Done” button and hope for a better survey or at least a chance to win the Instant Win game (Opinion Outpost only). I always hit “No Thanks” at the end of every survey to maximize my chances at winning the Instant Win game. I have won 20 points ($2) three times and 10 points ($1) once since the merger. I find that I win about once out of every 200 times I click “No Thanks”, but I did win 20 points ($2) twice in a row recently. I have also completed one Invoke with OpinionOutpost for 1000 points ($10) on January 9, 2012. I currently have 177 Prize Draws for the Prize Draw period that ends: 3/31/2012, but so far, that statistic is meaningless for me.

My Earnings Since the Merger

1. Opinion Outpost $1335.40 (100 points = $10 minimum pay out) (Joined: 2008-02-04) (PayPal) (Invokes) (product tests) [Last payment: 2/9/2012] Monthly Average = $25.82
Currently, I have 180 points ($18) with Opinion Outpost and it still ranks #1 in earnings.

4. SurveySpot $839 (1000 = $50 po) (2008-01-30) (PayPal) (Invokes) (product tests) [1-20-12] Monthly Average = $16.79
I have 1650 points ($16.50) with SurveySpot currently and it has actually climbed from #7 to #4 on my Top Ten list of highest paid survey panels since the merger was announced in July, but is holding steady for now.

Here is a breakdown of the surveys I took from Opinion Outpost from Oct. 21 through Dec. 2, 2011 to give you an idea of the points spread immediately after the merger:

Points Amount Number Total Percentage of Earnings
5 $0.50 5 $2.50 1.91%
10 $1 16 $16 12.24%
20 $2 22 $44 33.66%
25 $2.50 1 $2.50 1.91%
30 $3 1 $3 2.30%
35 $3.50 1 $3.50 2.68%
50 $5 1 $5 3.83%

As you can see, the vast majority of the surveys I received paid 10 points ($1) or 20 points ($2), though I did have a few for more and less.

My first cash-out via PayPal of $50 after Opinion Outpost merged with SurveySpot on October 21, 2011 took from October 27, 2011 until November 22, 2011 (26 days). My second $50 PayPal cash-out took from November 22, 2011 until January 13, 2012 (52 days). My third PayPal cash-out of $53 took from January 13, 2012 until February 9, 2012 (27 days). I think that is pretty good.

Tips and Advice for SurveySpot and OpinionOutpost

  1. If you’re cashing out with PayPal, you sometimes have to try a few times so just log in and repeat. After two or three times, the money will be in your account.
  2. If you get to the end of the survey and get a blank page reading ‘false’ just click on the html bar and hit ‘Enter’. It will reload and send you to the ending page where you can complete your survey and get your reward.
  3. Don’t try to take surveys from SurveySpot and OpinionOutpost in separate tabs of the same browser window simultaneously, as the SurveySpot tab will just revert back to OpinionOutpost.
  4. If you are having problems with your account call the toll-free number: 1.877.254.1234 (Opinion Outpost) or 1.866.360.9575 (SurveySpot). Do not leave a message if you don’t get through as they are unlikely to return your call. If you are redirected to the recording about leaving a message, hang up and call back later. I have never had to do this more than 3 or 4 times before I got through to a live person. They can actually help. They will pull up your account and tell you exactly what you need to do to get your account problems resolved.

Contact Information

For SurveySpot use the “Submit A Question” button on the General FAQ page. Or call 1.866.360.9575.
For OpinionOutpost, use the “Submit A Question” button on the General FAQ page. Or call 1.877.254.1234.

If anyone else has any impressions on the SurveySpot-OpinionOutpost merger, I would really like to hear them. If you have tips about taking surveys with SurveySpot or OpinionOutpost, please post those as well. Thanks.

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

27 Comments

  1. Micheal Dunk March 21, 2012 Reply

    This is great! An associate shared this with me this morning on Facebook. Impressive.

  2. Rotceh March 15, 2012 Reply

    This is my favorite survey site. Still, I’m finding that a lot of their surveys have me answer at least a dozen questions and then say I don’t qualify, which can be frustrating. Looking at my history, I’ve only actually qualified for a handful out of all the surveys I attempted. I’ve made about $13 and been with them since last summer.

  3. Agbenyo March 13, 2012 Reply

    Hi everyone. For what it’s worth, I have done many sruveys, usually for points redeemable for merchandise. My accrued points at several sites are in the range of $60 to $100 values. I have not yet redeemed any. One site I have $80 in cash which I also have not redeemed.However, in addition to periodically receiving checks worth $1 to $10 from various sites, I have also won one $100 prize they sent a check a couple of months ago. This was from the monthly drawing where there is one $1,000 prize, a couple of $100 and a bunch of $10s. Some sites pay via PayPal, too.Finally, I have received many, many products to test. I currently am using a body wash product and am expecting boxer shorts for my son any day! I have received air fresheners, shampoo and food products from chips&salsa to pudding to cereal. In addition to all the products, some of these also pay up to $10 for returning the sruveys.Is it worth it? Depends on the value of your time. Sometimes I skip the sruveys when I don’t have time. Also, I have noticed the the sruveys that say Earn $X in the subject line often have extensive pre-screening questions for which I am rarely eligible.Sorry this is long, but really, there are some honest sites and sometimes even when there’s no payment the sruveys are interesting.

    • LapisLee March 14, 2012 Reply

      Your experiences are very similar to mine. I once won $500 from IPSOS-ISAY and an Apple Macbook and Apple iPod Touch from a Capitol One forum that paid me $20 per month in Amazon gift cards to discuss credit cards.

  4. Jai March 12, 2012 Reply

    1.) Since the merger, they opinion outpost now has more redirecting errors and I find that there is always more survey problems now. I am also tired both of these companies trying to pass off prize draw entry’s as real quality rewards. OO were so much better before merging. That goes Mysurvey.com too. Both Opinion outpost and Mysurvey.com were much better before merging ith other companies and now they much worse. I mean one can make some money but, the quality of their survey sites are worst now. And People are actually okay with this.
    2.) Question though: When is there a good reason to keep a lot of money in your account and how much should you keep in your account?

    • LapisLee March 13, 2012 Reply

      Fourth cash-out of $50 from OpinionOutpost took from February 9, 2012 until March 9, 2012. That’s just 29 days.

      @Jai: It varies for different panels, but for the most legitimate highest-earning panels like OpinionOutpost, GTM and SurveySpot, I like to cash out with a nice round $50.

      • Jai March 16, 2012 Reply

        Thanks, That probably make s a more sense. I just like have a bunch of money in my account already. That way, I can cash out 50 or 75 with more than enough to spare. So, I try to stay way above the required amount to cash out. I call it “Making the minimum Zero”. Then I heard it was smarter cash out quickly on every site. So, figured I would get some advice.

    • Hannah March 16, 2012 Reply

      Jai- we liked your question so much, we wrote an entire blog post about it. You can see it here:
      http://www.getpaidsurveys.com/survey-questions-answered-keeping-money-in-your-survey-account/
      Hope this helps!

  5. LapisLee February 29, 2012 Reply

    Thanks Walter. When I first started out in January 2008, I would often spend 6-8 hours per day working late into the night. Now I start on my surveys right before lunch (11am), work for a couple hours, take a lunch break, then work some more until the high-paying surveys are all gone, about five hours. I always stop for the day around 5pm now unless I have a high-paying Invoke Interactive.

  6. Pickle February 29, 2012 Reply

    I had some slight issues with Opinion Outpost during their merger, but in the last month, everything has worked perfect and smoothly. Since the beginning of February, I’ve cashed out for $79.50. I always try to cash out as early as I can, so I’m glad the minimum requirement is only $10. I can usually reach that $10 cashout point in 3-5 days of doing surveys. The best I’ve done was $17.50 in a single day.

  7. LapisLee February 29, 2012 Reply

    It took me 26 days to reach $50 from the start of the merger (Oct. 21), then 52 days, then 27 days. It’s only been 14 days since my last cash-out on February 9 and I am already up to 330 points ($33). I usually cash out at $50.

  8. Walter Brady February 29, 2012 Reply

    Mr. Lee great blog post. I can definitely call you a great survey taker. The merger with opinion outpost did hurt a lot of people earnings. I have to buckle down and start taking the surveys for OO. Mr.Lee making the money you do with surveys how much time do you expend a day with the different survey panels?

  9. Roc Harris February 29, 2012 Reply

    I updated my profile ill see if im getting surveys thanks guys

  10. Roc Harris February 28, 2012 Reply

    I havent been receiving alot of surveys from opinion outpost ever since february is anybody having the same problem.

    • LapisLee February 28, 2012 Reply

      You now have to go to the Opinion Outpost website and click “Take a Survey” until they run out, at which point they ask you to complete your profile.

    • Hannah February 29, 2012 Reply

      I’ve been getting a TON of emails from OpinionOutpost, unfortunately most are just a generic “take a survey” (which direct you to the same place you’d go if you clicked the “Take a Survey” button while logged in). Some have been for actual surveys with point values, but I’ve been having difficulties qualifying/finishing for many this month.

      You might want to just check and update your profiles, which you can do by logging in to Opinion Outpost and clicking the “Edit Profile” link on the left-hand bar. You’ll see a date next to most of them showing when you last updated it. If your profiles are older (especially if they are more than 6 months), it often affects the number and quality of surveys you receive. Try updating those and it might help.

      You might also just want to log in and take surveys at your own pace (by clicking the “Take a Survey” link). This will give you more opportunities for surveys.

  11. LapisLee February 24, 2012 Reply

    Although there were a lot of problems during the merger I am actually pleased when survey panels are consolidated because it’s less effort required on my part and I still maintain an average of nearly $200 per month from my best survey panels so I don’t think I am suffering any in that department so far.

  12. Kim February 24, 2012 Reply

    I’m finding it very frustrating how many 5 point surveys I’m getting from OO. Most will last longer that the specified time. I haven’t seen very many 20 point surveys since the merge and their 15 minute 10 point surveys are usually longer than 15 minutes. I like the paypal redemption and have to say that is probably the one good thing since the change. Too bad since I really liked OO.

  13. Hannah February 24, 2012 Reply

    I think the interesting thing about the merger is that they didn’t seem to take into account the fact that they might have people with accounts in both places.

    I also noticed that occasionally I would be able to take the exact same survey (survey number matched identically) from either SurveySpot or Opinion Outpost, and OO offered TWICE the pay for the same survey.

    I ran into a couple issues where they sent me a survey from SurveySpot, but credited the points to OpinionOutpost, and another issue where a product test from Opinion Outpost had a follow-up survey from SurveySpot. The follow up survey was SUPPOSED to pay a certain amount, but since it was sent from SurveySpot instead of Opinion Outpost, they only paid me HALF of what I was supposed to get.

    This has definitely made for a lot of frustration, and their support departments were not set up to be able to help when something affected both panels like that. I actually ended up contacting the main SSI office and getting someone there to pay attention to the issue.

    Needless to say, I’ve stopped taking SS surveys other than large point value email invitations and have focused on OO instead. I’m actually planning on closing my SurveySpot account as soon as I cash out, as I’m very tired of dealing with the problems of having accounts with both places.

  14. Javier March 13, 2012 Reply

    Great way to make a little extra cash or get tghnis from Amazon.com. My daughter-in-law told me about it. It is a little disappointing, answering questions and then being told you don’t quailify, but still worth a few minutes of your time. What do you have to lose? I have had a problem or two with the program. BUT sent them an email and problem was resolved in less than 24 hrs. I have made about$50 since Dec. I haven’t taken all the surveys they offered me, due to time. The more you take the more you qualify for.

  15. Pooja March 15, 2012 Reply

    I’ve been with them since December ’09, so far according to my Reward account I’ve made a little over $40.

  16. Ivan March 13, 2012 Reply

    There are several sites. Do not give anyone your SSN, there are lots of sites out there that are legit and they do not need this info from you. Nor do you have to pay to join. I am a member of several. The one I have had the most luck with is Lightspeed. They do not pay you cash, you get points which can be converted into cash via pay pal. However, they send me the most surveys. And already twice now I have been asked to participate in a more extensive survey in which I was sent a palm pilot in the mail and asked to record certain daily activities. The ones I have completed offered a $ 50 incentive and that was in the form of a check in addition to the points I received for completing the initial survey. I have also done survey savvy which has a great referral program if you know people who will join you get money for surveys they complete. I have also tried American Consumer Opinion. They pay by check in mail for all surveys, but I have not been able to complete many of their surveys. I did a lot of research before joining these three. You also need to be a regular email checker because if you don’t respond to the survey fast enough they have met their quota. I am pleased with these sites and looking to join some new ones.Most pay a few dollars per survey completed so it is best to use several. Good luck!

  17. Abdul March 15, 2012 Reply

    Been with them for a few weeks only made $4 out of the 15-20 surveys I got ive only qalfiuied for 2. Surveyspot.com is my favorite survey site minmum cashout is only $10 i cashed out within a week of using it and they always have plenty of surveys for you to take, i highly recommend it and they pay you through paypal. I cashed out Oct 2 through paypal and on Oct 4 it was in my bank account

  18. LapisLee March 14, 2012 Reply

    The only legitimate survey panel that asks for your SSN is LiveWire. I gave it to them and I don’t think it will be a problem; otherwise, you would only have to give out your SSN if you earn more than $600 from any one company, such as SSI, which operates SurveySpot and OpinionOutpost.

  19. LapisLee March 14, 2012 Reply

    My information comes from Google and from watching the panels very closely over the past few years. I included a link in the first paragraph that describes the merger back in July 2011.

  20. Takefumi March 15, 2012 Reply

    love, love, love this site. fun to get cash! I haven’t worked in almost 13 yrs, so it’s fun to get a little something. Thank you so much. I’ve been a member for a little over a year and have made over $100 now and still going. yay fun!

  21. Ronald March 16, 2012 Reply

    Have you tried Mysurvey.com? I do this and two other companies (including Pinecone) but have found Mysurvey.com to be the best moneymaker for me. I have rec’d $30 over the past two months.